Necessity List

I decided to go into the New Year only buying things I absolutely need and then trying to make the rest.  I figured this would push me to sew/knit more.  I definitely have but it seems like the things I need to buy now are more expensive that I’d like them to be.  Then I start feeling overwhelmed monetarily and have to breathe into a paper bag.  List making always calms me down when I feel out of control – so that’s precisely what I am going to do.

Item No. 1 – New running shoes.  Whenever my knees start talking to me, I know it’s time for a new pair.  I just wish nice running shoes weren’t so expensive.  I bought Brooks Glycerin 9 last year for my half marathon training.  I initially thought they were the ugliest thing in the world but I bought them anyway because they felt awesome.  After miles and miles together, they’ve grown on me.  I now look at their ugliness with fondness and wouldn’t mind another pair.

Item No. 2 – Another pair of WARM running tights.  Maryland winters aren’t just cold – they are damp, feel-it-in-your-bones, would-you-like-some-wind-with-that? cold.  I have one really warm pair of running pants, and two not so warm but get the job done pants.  I’d love another pair so I can go a week without wearing the same pair twice (it’s gross I know, but I’m not above sniffing my pants to see if they are wearable).

Item No. 3 – New bathing suit for Mexico.  I haven’t bought a new bathing suit in a couple years. It might be time.  I think they may be purchased at Target for cheap.  This one seems cute enough enough.

Item No. 4 –  School books.  Ugh.  No way around this one.  At least amazon can save me from the University $tore prices.

Item No. 5 – Baby Shower things.  This will encompass quite a bit.  Only sister’s first kid.  I will be going all out.  Well, as all out as I can.

Anyone have any money I can borrow? 🙂

Leave a Reply

