I did it!

Sorry for the delay in posting a half marathon update! I’ve been a busy little Duda lately.

It was an absolutely beautiful day for a long run.  It was a little windy around Lake Montebello, and the hills were killer of course, but I had so much fun.    The only slight problem I had was around mile 11 – there is a nasty incline on a bridge crossing over I-83.  And I definitely needed another gel to get me back to M&T Bank stadium.  Next year three gels will be in my arsenal – one before the race (9:45 am is a late race!  When you eat breakfast at 6 am it certainly doesn’t last long enough!) one at mile 6 or 7 (Lake Montebello water stop) and one around mile 10 or 11.  I got a slight cramp close to the finish line.  I knew it was me running out of fuel.  Thankfully I made it – beating my old time by around 20 minutes.  BAM!  Take that 2010 Caitlin!

Here are my two favorite pictures from the day:

Everyone who ran with me that day 🙂

Lucy stealing my finisher’s medal.

Leave a Reply

